Trelai Park

About Trelai Park

Opened in 1933, Trelai Park is a large open space in the Caerau area of Cardiff. From 1855, the site was an important horse racing venue, . The park is now one of Cardiff’s largest playing fields, complete with large car park and changing rooms.

In the middle of the park is the site of a Roman Villa dating from the first century AD.

Footpaths through the park link to Leckwith Woods

Visitor information

The park is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Parking: Parking is available in the car park accessed from Vincent Road.


  • Roman Villa site: In 1894 a first century Roman villa was discovered on Ely Racecourse and excavations were carried out in 1922. The site of the villa is still visible as an unmown area in the middle of Trelai Park, although the excavations have been covered over. The site is a Scheduled Ancient Monument.
  • Leckwith Woods: to the south of the park can be accessed via a subway underneath the bypass. Formerly owned by Cardiff Council, the woodlands are now managed by the Vale of Glamorgan Council.
  • River Ely: The river forms the eastern boundary of the park beyond the allotment site. The Ely Trail, on the opposite bank of the river, provides a pedestrian and cycling link between the countryside of St Fagans and Cardiff Bay.


  • Sports fields and changing rooms: to book a sports pitch please contact the Parks Service
  • Children’s playground: suitable for children up to the age of 14
  • Skatepark

There are no toilets or refreshment facilities at Trelai Park.

How to find us

How to find us
Access point GPS (latitude / longitude)
Trelai car park 51.479233 / -3.2352259

What3words: gladiators.dash.gums

Discover the park

See also...

Website designed by Cardiff Council Web Team

Cookie policyPrivacy policy