About Thompsons Park
One of Cardiff’s oldest parks, Thompsons Park was laid out as a private garden and opened to the public, in 1891, by owner, Charles Thompson. This grade 2 listed historic park was originally known as Sir David’s Field and was enlarged and landscaped by the eminent garden designer Sir William Goldring in around 1895. In 1911, Mr Thompson gifted the park to Cardiff Corporation.
This attractive park with its iconic water fountain is a popular but peaceful place to pass the time of day.